I Got a Mac!!!


Yes… I have removed myself from the reign of the Dark Lord Gates. I had been contemplating the move since last fall when I had the opportunity to work with some heavy duty video editing software on a PowerMac Dual processor G5. It was amazing. Thus, about two weeks ago, I purchased a MacBook. Mine has a 2.0 GHz processor, 1 GB of RAM, and a 60 GAB hard drive. Unfortunately, I immediately had problems with some of my accessories. I purchased the MacBook from the University of Missouri bookstore and it came with a bunch of add-ons including a laptop lock. Thinking that I should try it out before I move to St. Louis, I slipped the lock into the mac…. and it wouldn’t come out. I struggled with it, and eventually gave up. I took it into TigerTech and they worked for two days to remove it. Finally, it came out. I wasn’t charged anything even though the lock fell outside of my warranty. The lock company even has sent me a care package for my troubles because of their defective lock. I actually returned the lock… I just won’t leave my MacBook around.

All I have to say is that the MacBook is amazing. It is super fast, the new keyboard style is great, and these standard programs simply stomp anything from the windows world into the ground. I can do blogging, podcasting, video podcasts, music creation, HD movie creation, and professional DVDs, all standard!! How sweet is that?

9 Responses

  1. Welcome to the fold! I was in management in IT and the ISP industry before coming to Fort Wayne, and I have used all manner of computers. I have never been more pleased with a computer than with my MacBook Pro. I stopped by the Indianapolis store to play with a MacBook last weekend, and I must say it is an extremely nice little laptop. If you need any help with anything (or suggestions for software) just ask away!

  2. You have been absolved from your past PC sins. Let the Apple sanctification begin!

  3. Hello mac, goodbye video games.

  4. Elliott, you have to remember, all I played was Black Hawk Down and the occasional counterstrike match. I probably won’t have much time for that now anyway… and… if I do need a fix… that is what boot camp is for 🙂

  5. Welcome to the club. I have a 2 GHz Intel Core Duo iMac. The suite of multimedia programs is, indeed, sweet!

  6. Congrats, Sam, on being truly enlightened. I would never own anything but a Mac. I have an iBook, but my son just got a blazing MacBook Pro. Very, very sweet. He’s been playing PC games on it using Boot Camp and it does fabulous.

    And Erich, I should have known you were a Mac dude!!!

    Sam, have you had anyone send you pics yet in Mail and then used the screen show feature and have them save into iPhoto. Slick, very slick!

  7. Okay, I’m late to this thread but you guys are making me covet. I’ve been seriously considering taking the plunge and getting a Macbook (or Macbook Pro). But I am a video game junkie from way back, and I have a 9-year-old son who’s following in my footsteps. Do new PC games run pretty well through Bootcamp? Anyone know?

  8. David B.
    Pastor Weedon mentioned that his son has been playing video games using Boot Camp and it was doing very well. The only issue that I might see is the lack of a stand-alone video card. But it all depends on the game.

    Sam

Leave a Reply

