Frequency of Communion

I grew up in a congregation that had communion two or three times per month. However, after I started at Seward I got used to having communion once or twice a week. We had a full communion service once a week in chapel, plus I would receive the sacrament at St. John in Seward two or three times per month. I got used to this frequency. The same is true now that I’m at the seminary. The Lord’s Supper is celebrated every Wednesday in our chapel. I also receive the Sacrament at my fieldwork church two or three times a month. Recently, it was a “no Lord’s Supper” weekend at my fieldwork congregation and I had to take my wife to the doctor on Wednesday instead of going to chapel. Thus, I did not receive the sacrament for over a week. Something was missing in my life. This feeling speaks volumes to the importance of frequent (and I’m talking weekly) celebration of the Lord’s Supper. People won’t grow tired of it, but grow to embrace the frequent celebration of the Supper as life and salvation is given to them in the Body and Blood.

8 Responses

  1. Yeah, every time you disrupt someone’s pattern they’re going to feel a bit off until they get back on it.

  2. The church I attend also celebrates the supper roughly every other Sunday. However, during Epiphany and I believe part of Lent Communion was held weekly. I too grew very dependent upon weekly recieving the Medicine of Immortality and forgiveness of sins. For a little over a month now, we have been back to the regular every other Sunday or so routine. The first Sunday we went without The Lord’s Supper I felt a little ripped off, to say the least. And I still feal ripped off. We did not have communion this past Lord’s day, and I left thinking something was missing, even though it has been a few weeks since we did weekly Communion.

    In response to Elliott, not having communion when one is accustomed to it is a little more than simply “disrupting someone’s pattern.” Sure, Lutherans are known to be finicky when it comes to pattern and ritual. Not recieving forgiveness and life in Holy Communion is a little more than just throwing one’s pattern out of wack.

    Wir sind alle bettler,

    Ben

  3. First off, I’m not a beggar. Second, it’s really not. The only thing different between communion and touching the door 4 times before you can turn the knob is that communion is part of a religious faith while door touching is just a compulsion.

  4. And just to be an internet stereotype. I believe the proper German form of that sentence is “Wir sind allen Bettler.” Conjugation and capitalization, the best part of internet arguments.

    Of course, I’m not 100% sure on that “allen” part, I think in German it’d be an adjective in that usage but I could be wrong. German’s a fucked up language and I’ve only had 3 years of it.

  5. My argument was originally that his sense of loss in not receiving communion was merely the temporary loss of a ritual that he associates with good feelings. You don’t even seem to be arguing that anymore. And if I believe that Jesus touched the door to hell 4 times before leaving it, it holds the same significance as communion would.

  6. The frequency of communion should be up to each individual. Not the pastor. I was a member of a church whose pastor said a church service was not a divine service absent communion. Since it wasn’t a divine service, he did not offer confession and absolution, not did we stand for the gospel reading. What is missing from the previous blogs is the word of God. What does God say about communion? Do this as oft as you eat and drink.
    Look at the passover. God was very detailed in what to eat, how to eat, what to wear, how often to eat. None of this is spelled out in the NT applying to communion. We are free as individuals to partake as often as we want. Daily, weekly, bi-monthly….it’s up to the individual.

  7. Mary,
    A response:

    First I’ll deal with your pastor. Any service where the Word of God is preached to sinners is a divine service because Christ comes to them in that Word. However, it is most common to only refer to a service where the Holy Sacrament is administered as a “Divine Service.”

    Your flaw is that you say that the frequency of communion should be “up to each individual.” However, if the Sacrament is not offered by the church… a person cannot partake of this Holy Supper.

    Here are a few reasons why I think the Sacrament should be offered each weak to the congregation. First of all, why not? Are we not in need of forgiveness daily, hourly, every minute? We should rejoice that Christ comes into our midst to give us His Body and Blood physically for the forgiveness of sins.

    Also, is is an invention of the 19th and 20th century to not offer the sacrament every week. In fact, it was quite common in Europe for their to be daily masses. Thankfully, there are Lutheran churches here in America that offer the Sacrament daily during days after Easter. What a wonderful gift!

    Scripture references: check out Acts 2:42, Acts 20:7, and 1 Cor 11.

    I apologize that it took a bit of time to reply. School obligations take priority over my blog.

Leave a Reply

