Earthquake – St. Louis

We have a joke with our neighbor that whenever we leave town something bad happens (power outages, floods, windstorms, trees falling, etc.). Well now she is out of town and we have an earthquake. Thanks Sue.

Lisa woke me up at 4:36 a.m. with the cry, “The house is shaking.” To be honest… my level of caring at that time is next to none. This she realized in the winter storm of 2006 when I refused to go outside and check on things when a limb hit an awning and made a lot of noise. I guess I’m a bad husband. I suggested that it was an earthquake and sure enough… the USGS (United States Geological Survey) website has this event listed as a 5.4 magnitude earthquake with its epicenter in southeastern Illinois. 

Now I want to go back to bed but we are watching the news broadcasts of the event

One Response

  1. OMG!!
    i was sitting here at my computer and i felt a small tremor. i passed it off as my neighbor upstairs making more noise. i turned around to look at the tv. and it was shaking. as was this little stand next to my computer. as was the wall.
    i just sat here and waited it all out. i chuckled to myself that it was god giving me somekind of warning. LOL!!
    my best friend called me at 6:50 AM asking if i had lived thru the earthquake. i thought she was bs’ing me but its all over our local news.
    ok, so maybe it was or wasnt god giving me a sign.
    either way next time it happens, im gonna stop and listen!!

Leave a Reply

