Carrier Trip Video

From KETC, LIVING ST. LOUIS Producer Anne-Marie Berger traveled to California for a special tour of the USS John C. Stennis, a Nimitz-class nuclear-powered aircraft carrier. As guests of the U.S. Navy, Anne-Marie, photojournalist Scot Page and KETC board member Jeffrey McDonnell began their visit at the Naval Air Station on North Island in San Diego. From there, they flew in a C-2 cargo plane that landed directly on the Stennis, 100 miles off the coast. After 36 hours on board, they were catapulted off of the carrier’s flight deck.

In most shots I’m in a blue jacket with white stripes on the sleeves. I’ll hopefully post some of my own video in the future.

2 Responses

  1. There are few things in life more exciting than watching air operations on a carrier. Growing up in Pensacola, Florida, I got to go out on two dependent cruises aboard the USS Lexington, which, at the time, was the Navy’s training carrier. I don’t know which is more fun to watch: launches or recoveries. How did you score a ride with the crew? Awesome, and congrats!!

  2. Rev. McCain,
    Sorry it took me a bit to reply. I’ve been in the hospital with my grandpa.

    I’ll do a post eventually describing the trip…. but the long and short of it is that a group from St. Louis made up from folks from KETC, the U of I football team, a dean from Mizzou (my mom’s boss) and a few other folks. I got lumped in with them.

    Also, knowing your interest in the U.S. Navy and photography you might enjoy a book titled “Just a Sailor” by Steven Waterman (http://www.amazon.com/Just-Sailor-Divers-Photography-Salvage/dp/0804119376/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1218385897&sr=8-8).

    Sam

Leave a Reply

