Update on Grandpa and the family

Grandpa is doing well…. 100% better than my previous post. He is out of ICU, breathing better, blood pressure has been stabalized and is talking. He got pretty fiesty last night and pulled out his feeding tube and then stood up beside the bed. Much better today. The move wore him out so he rested most of the evening. I’m pulling another night shift just to have somebody close by and watch out for him (my family lives about 40 minutes from the hospital).

Mom is home now after being in Alexandria, Virginia for her high school class reunion. She actually missed it because of the health crisis. My mom rocks… she drove 998 miles on Friday straight through with only stops for gas, bathroom breaks, and soda. 15 1/2 hours = average speed of 64.5 miles per hour roughly. She’s a trooper.

Lisa was also here with me this weekend so last night Lisa (my wife if you haven’t figured it out), my mom, and I went to a wedding. One of my cousins married a young lady from my church. We got to see lots of family, lots of friends, and some of my old teachers. It was a blast all around. My pastor did the ceremony and gave a great sermon. It is so nice to hear Jesus mentioned not simply as an example, but as the Savior of the world. I also have to say my pastor is a great guy because he came twice in two days to check on my grandpa. My grandpa doesn’t come to church much at all and doesn’t consider himself religious, but he loves my pastor. They always visit in the Chinese restaurant in town and he loves talking to Pastor and pastor’s wife. Pastor always gives him the Gospel. When pastor walked in the room on Thursday night when things were looking grim he prayed one of the most beautiful prayers I’ve heard pointing my grandfather to the cross and to what Jesus did for him.

Today I preached (sermon number 4) at my home church. I preached on the Gospel text (Feeding of the 5,000). I had been prepping for this one for a while since it was somewhat of a special occasion. A family at my home church has an endowment fund set up to support seminarians. I’ve been close with the family for just about my whole life. The endowment is named after a woman named Elora. I was confirmed with her autistic grandson and went to high school with her granddaughter. Today was a family reunion for them of sorts and a dinner was held in my honor at their house. I was invited to preach because of this. I have to admit… it was fun! My pastor even commented that I must have been reading Nagel. I also taught Bible story on John 20. This was done on the fly (since I just finished a John course at the sem) and I haven’t had time to prep with grandpa being in the hospital. I may post the sermon… I may not.

Well, I’m off to bed. I’ll keep posting updates. Thanks for your continued prayers.

One Response

  1. […] by Sam on August 7, 2008 In my previous post I said that my grandpa was doing 100% better. He slipped some on Monday. He was diagnosed with a […]

Leave a Reply

