Good Thing – First Aid Training

My stack of American Red Cross certification cards is pretty big. It includes Lifeguarding, CPR/AED for the Professional Rescuer, Oxygen Administration, Bloodborne Pathagens, Emergency Response, and Standard First Aid and CPR. I’m certified in all those areas and I also serve as an instructor.

Guess what… in my ten years as lifeguard and five years as an instructor… I’ve only got in the water once in a rescue and the most extensive first aid I’ve done is do some heavy duty bandaging on a kid at camp.

My wife (who I’ve taught in FA/CPR) however, has had two seperate occasions where she has been the primary rescuer. Once at a Panera (I think) when a worker had a seizure (she was standing in line) and today at her current employment (a food service establishment) when a patron fainted.

I’m certainly proud of my wife… but it does seem funny that I’ve never had to deal with anything like that before. I guess I shouldn’t complain.

One Response

  1. Judge each day not by the harvest, but by the seeds you plant.

    You may wonder at the low harvest from the training you’ve received, Sam, but you’ll never know the scope of the harvest from the training you’ve given to others. Lisa’s is just a peek. Plant those seeds.

Leave a Reply

