Tech/Computer Resolutions

Okay… so it is a little past the 1st of the year… but here are some tech resolutions from Macworld.com that are worthy of consideration. Some are mac specific, but most should have an alternative that works in the windows world.

  1. I resolve to back up my data. Regularly. Thoroughly.
    Done… I have at least two forms of backup for each computer including multiple externals and CD/DVD backups, plus online backup/storage. 
  2. I resolve to purchase a copy of Alsoft’s Disk Warrior if I haven’t already, because I understand that it will save my bacon should my Mac experience the worst sort of low-level corruption.
    Not done yet. 
  3. I resolve to seriously consider purchasing AppleCare for my new Mac because Macs, like anything, break, and some of those breaks can cost a small fortune. Much as I view extended warranties with suspicion, AppleCare is often a good investment.
    Done.
  4. I resolve that if I’m going to open up an expensive hunk of hardware with the notion of improving it in some way, I’ll have the proper tools at hand (and this means more than a Swiss Army Knife) and a clear enough appreciation of my true skills that, if necessary, I can back out before I do The Bad Thing.
    Learned this after not having the right screwdrivers. Now I am equipped.  
  5. I resolve to be polite when speaking with any tech support person because I understand that my problems were not caused by the person I’m speaking with.
    I’m trying… I’m trying… Seriously… how is it that newegg can lose my package before it even left the warehouse. I want that RAM!!! 
  6. I resolve to sit in a healthy position when working at my computer and get up and walk around every so often because I don’t want to be mistaken for Quasimodo when I’m 42.
    Yeah… I’m trying… 
  7. I resolve to responsibly panic when my Mac’s hard drive begins to squeak and take immediate action along the lines of backing up my data and obtaining another drive from which I can boot my Mac.
    Gotcha.
  8. I resolve to not repair permissions on each day with a Y in its name because I mistakenly believe that it’s like giving your Mac a daily vitamin.
    Thankfully I never got into this habit. In fact, I’ve only rebuilt permissions one time for both my macs combined. 
  9. I resolve to tag and rate my media—photos and music—when I first import it with the idea that two years from now I might want to find it.
    Yeah… need to do that. Music I really don’t care about… but I’m still working on better photo organization. 
  10. I resolve to rein in any condescension and smugness when talking computers with a PC user, understanding that not only do I not want to be one of those people, but also that my attitude may prevent a fellow human being from moving to a Mac for fear that they’d become one ofthose people.
    I try to reign in my comments whenever possible… but after trying to get our secretary’s computer to behave… it is quite difficult.
3 Responses

  1. You and Mike should talk. He HATES it that I have a Mac; probably more so that I have a Mac and ask him to look at it when things don’t go well. What online backup/storage are you using? Just google, flickr and the like? Thanks for the list of your podcasts b/c I’ve become a huge fan of the Typical Mac User Podcast. Victor’s great, but that Drobo harddrive is expensive. (And I really want one so I can just back up on that and not worry about anything else.) Anyway point of the story is that I need my Mac buddies around to help me out so I don’t totally piss off my pc-loving husband.

  2. I use dropbox. Try getdropbox.com

    It is a free service that gives you 2gbs of online storage. It basically functions as a folder on your desktop. You can just drag and drop files. I keep tons of documents on there. Also, there is a “Public” folder where you can put files and then “right-click” and get a link you can give to your friends so they can download a particular file. One final thing about dropbox is that it works on Macs, PCs, and even Linux boxes. You just have to install the client and you are good to go. I’ve had zero problems with this service. If you install on more than one computer you essentially have three copies of all your files: your macbook, online (which you can access from anywhere), and on the other computer.

    Mozy also has a backup solution. They’ve recently begun running TV adds. I can’t speak to their reliability.

    The Typical Mac User is tops on my list. I too would love a drobo… but the cost is pretty high. You are running at least one backup (on a local drive)?

  3. Oh… and there are rumors that google might come out with a “gdrive” online setup. I’m eagerly awaiting this possibility.

Leave a Reply

